Welcome to Temple Emanu-El

New in Library

  • The greater Judaism in the makingThe greater Judaism in the making : a study of the modern evolution of Judaism

    Kaplan, Mordecai Menahem, 1881-

  • When time stoppedWhen time stopped : a memoir of my father's war and what remains

    Neumann, Ariana, author.

    "In 1941, the first Neumann family member was taken by the Nazis, arrested in German-occupied Czechoslovakia for bathing in a stretch of river forbidden to Jews. He was transported to Auschwitz. Eighteen days later his prisoner number was entered into the morgue book. Of thirty-four Neumann family members, twenty-five were murdered by the Nazis. One of the survivors was Hans Neumann, who, to escape the German death net, traveled to Berlin and hid in plain sight under the Gestapo's eyes. What Hans experienced was so unspeakable that, when he built an industrial empire in Venezuela, he couldn't bring himself to talk about it. All his daughter Ariana knew was that something terrible had happened. When Hans died, he left Ariana a small box filled with letters, diary entries, and other memorabilia. Ten years later, Ariana finally summoned the courage to have the letters translated, and she began reading. What she discovered launched her on a worldwide search that would deliver indelible portraits of a family loving, finding meaning, and trying to survive amid the worst that can be imagined. When Time Stopped is a powerful detective story and an epic family memoir, spanning nearly ninety years and crossing oceans. Neumann brings each relative to vivid life. In uncovering her father's story after all these years, she discovers nuance and depth to her own history and liberates poignant and thought-provoking truths about the threads of humanity that connect us all."--

  • On divisionOn division

    Goldbloom, Goldie, author.

  • Lost and foundLost and found

    Perl, Erica S., author.

    Arnold, a bear who likes to collect things, reluctantly lends one of his treasures to best friend Louise the chipmunk, who oftens loses things.

  • The great LouweezieThe great Louweezie

    Perl, Erica S., author.

    The unlikely friendship of Arnold and Louise--a big bear and a chatty chipmunk--is tested when Louise claims to be able to predict the future.

  • Judith's pavilionJudith's pavilion : the haunting memories of a neurosurgeon

    Flitter, Marc.

  • Truth or lie : presidentsTruth or lie : presidents

    Perl, Erica S., author.

    "The Truth Sleuth guides readers through a series of truths (and lies) about American presidents."--Provided by publisher.

  • Truth or lie :SharksTruth or lie :Sharks

    Perl, Erica S., author.

    "Fun, factual information about sharks. from the Truth Or Lie series."--

  • Truth or lie : dinosaursTruth or lie : dinosaurs

    Perl, Erica S., author.

    "Fun facts about dinosaurs presented in a quiz like style. Learn about everything from Triceratops to Tyrannosaurs Rex."--

  • All the fun winter thingsAll the fun winter things

    Perl, Erica S., author.

    Persuaded by his energetic best friend Louise the chipmunk, sleepy Arnold the bear postpones hibernation to do what Louise calls "fun winter things.".

See full list...

Popular Titles

  • How Yiddish changed America and how America changed YiddishHow Yiddish changed America and how America changed Yiddish

  • House on endless watersHouse on endless waters : a novel

    Elon, Emunah, author.

    "For fans of The Invisible Bridge and The History of Love, a lyrical and exquisitely moving novel about a writer who embarks on a transformative journey in Amsterdam, where he discovers the shocking truth about his mother's wartime experience-unearthing a remarkable story that becomes the subject of his magnum opus. At the behest of his agent, renowned author Yoel Blum reluctantly agrees to visit his birthplace of Amsterdam to meet with his Dutch publisher, despite promising his late mother that he would never return to that city. While touring the Jewish Museum with his wife, Yoel stumbles upon a looping reel of photos offering a glimpse of pre-war Dutch Jewish life, and is astonished to see the youthful face of his beloved mother staring back at him, posing with her husband, Yoel's older sister, Nettie...and an infant he doesn't recognize. This unsettling discovery launches him into a fervent search for the truth, revealing Amsterdam's dark wartime history and the underground networks which hid Jewish children away from danger-but at a cost. The deeper into the past Yoel digs, the better he understands his mother's silence, and the more urgent the question that has unconsciously haunted him for a lifetime-Who am I?-becomes. Evocative, insightful, and deeply resonant, House on Endless Waters beautifully illustrates the complex nature of identity and belonging, and the inextricability of past and present"--

  • It's a whole spielIt's a whole spiel : love, latkes, and other Jewish stories

    Locke, Katherine and Laura Silverman, eds.

    "From stories of confronting their relationships with Judaism to rom-coms with a side of bagels and lox, It's a Whole Spiel features one story after another that says yes, we are Jewish, but we are also queer, and disabled, and creative, and political, and adventurous, and anything we want to be"--

  • Cilka's journeyCilka's journey

    Morris, Heather, (Screenwriter), author.

  • The Hawaii coffee bookThe Hawaii coffee book : a gourmet's guide from kona to kauai

    Steiman, Shawn.

  • Becoming EveBecoming Eve : my journey from ultra-Orthodox rabbi to transgender woman

    Stein, Abby, 1991-, author.

    "Abby Stein was raised in a Hasidic Jewish community in Brooklyn, profoundly isolated in a culture that lives according to the laws and practices of an eighteenth-century Eastern European enclave, speaking only Yiddish and Hebrew and shunning modern life. Stein was born as the first son in a rabbinical dynastic family, poised to become a leader of the next generation of Hasidic Jews. But Stein felt certain at a young age that she was a girl. Without access to TV or the internet, and never taught English, she suppressed her desire for a new body while looking for answers wherever she could find them, from forbidden religious texts to smuggled secular examinations of faith. Finally, she orchestrated a personal exodus from ultra-Orthodox manhood into mainstream femininity--a radical choice that forced her to leave her home, her family, and her way of life"--

  • The Newish Jewish EncyclopediaThe Newish Jewish Encyclopedia : From Abraham to ZabarÑ«s and Everything in Between

    Butnick, Stephanie, author.

    "Some people seek. Jews question. And to answer their questions comes The Newish Jewish Encyclopedia, a bible of Judaism that, in its deeply knowing and highly entertaining way, reflects the diverse and at times irascible tribe who identify as Jewish, orJewish, or, in the case of future converts and/or spouses, Jewcurious. Here is a popcultural guide to all the many, many aspects and delights of "being Jewish," created by the hosts of the most popular Jewish podcast on iTunes, Unorthodox. And that's theoperating word: unorthodox. How else to describe an encyclopedia that begins with "Aaron"--"Like a biblical Rodney Dangerfield, our first High Priest couldn't get no respect"--ends with "Zyklon B" (yikes), and never fails to entertain? Along the way, it covers everything: The meaning of "Nu?" The Patriarchs and the Matriarchs. The singers Al Jolson, Barbra Streisand, Billy Joel, and Carole King. The Kabbalah and Krusty the Clown, Masada and Jackie Mason, the Beastie Boys and "bagel Jews." Readers will refresh themselves on the Oslo Accords, understand all the major and minor holidays (including a guide to fasting), discover how the Jews invented Hollywood, remind themselves why they need to read Isaac Babel, Hannah Arendt, and Daniel Deronda, and find themeaning of happiness (see "Latkes"). Packed with hundreds of photos, charts, illustrations, and guides, it's an encyclopedia that's as rich in visuals as it is in language. It is sababa"--

  • Tomorrow's GodTomorrow's God : The Hebrew Lord in an age of sdience

    Goldman, Robert N.

  • A Rosenberg by any other nameA Rosenberg by any other name : a history of Jewish name changing in America

    Fermaglich, Kirsten Lise, author.

    Our thinking about Jewish name changing tends to focus on clichés: ambitious movie stars who adopted glamorous new names or insensitive Ellis Island officials who changed immigrants' names for them. But as Kirsten Fermaglich elegantly reveals, the real story is much more profound. Scratching below the surface, Fermaglich examines previously unexplored name change petitions to upend the clichés, revealing that in twentieth-century New York City, Jewish name changing was actually a broad-based and voluntary behavior: thousands of ordinary Jewish men, women, and children legally changed their names in order to respond to an upsurge of antisemitism. Rather than trying to escape their heritage or "pass" as non-Jewish, most name-changers remained active members of the Jewish community. While name changing allowed Jewish families to avoid antisemitism and achieve white middle-class status, the practice also created pain within families and became a stigmatized, forgotten aspect of American Jewish culture. This first history of name changing in the United States offers a previously unexplored window into American Jewish life throughout the twentieth century. A Rosenberg by Any Other Name demonstrates how historical debates about immigration, antisemitism and race, class mobility, gender and family, the boundaries of the Jewish community, and the power of government are reshaped when name changing becomes part of the conversation. --

  • The collector's apprenticeThe collector's apprentice : a novel

    Shapiro, Barbara A., 1951-, author.

    "It's the summer of 1922, and nineteen-year-old Paulien Mertens finds herself in Paris--broke, disowned, and completely alone. Everyone in Belgium, including her own family, believes she stole millions in a sophisticated con game perpetrated by her then-fiancé, George Everard. To protect herself from the law and the wrath of those who lost everything, she creates a new identity, a Frenchwoman named Vivienne Gregsby, and sets out to recover her father's art collection, prove her innocence--and exact revenge on George. When the eccentric and wealthy American art collector Edwin Bradley offers Vivienne the perfect job, she is soon caught up in the Parisian world of post-Impressionists and expatriates--including Gertrude Stein and Henri Matisse, with whom Vivienne becomes romantically entwined. As she travels between Paris and Philadelphia, where Bradley is building an art museum, her life becomes even more complicated: George returns with unclear motives . . . and then Vivienne is arrested for Bradley's murder"--

See full list...