House on endless waters

FIC ELO

browse shelf >>

House on endless waters : a novel

Elon, Emunah, author.

New York : Atria Books, 2020.

309 pages ; 24 cm.

Rate this title or write a review

"For fans of The Invisible Bridge and The History of Love, a lyrical and exquisitely moving novel about a writer who embarks on a transformative journey in Amsterdam, where he discovers the shocking truth about his mother's wartime experience-unearthing a remarkable story that becomes the subject of his magnum opus. At the behest of his agent, renowned author Yoel Blum reluctantly agrees to visit his birthplace of Amsterdam to meet with his Dutch publisher, despite promising his late mother that he would never return to that city. While touring the Jewish Museum with his wife, Yoel stumbles upon a looping reel of photos offering a glimpse of pre-war Dutch Jewish life, and is astonished to see the youthful face of his beloved mother staring back at him, posing with her husband, Yoel's older sister, Nettie...and an infant he doesn't recognize. This unsettling discovery launches him into a fervent search for the truth, revealing Amsterdam's dark wartime history and the underground networks which hid Jewish children away from danger-but at a cost. The deeper into the past Yoel digs, the better he understands his mother's silence, and the more urgent the question that has unconsciously haunted him for a lifetime-Who am I?-becomes. Evocative, insightful, and deeply resonant, House on Endless Waters beautifully illustrates the complex nature of identity and belonging, and the inextricability of past and present"-- Provided by publisher.

Due 03/18/20

RegularRegular

All copies at Temple Emanu-El are out and the next copy is due back 03/18/20

ISBN:

978-1-982130-22-0 : $27.00

ISBN:

978-1-982130-22-0 : $27.00

Dewey Class No:

892.43/6 23

Author:

Elon, Emunah, author.

UniformTitle:

Bayit ʻal mayim rabim. English.

Title:

House on endless waters : a novel / Emuna Elon ; translated from Hebrew by Anthony Berris and Linda Yechiel.

Edition:

First Atria Books hardcover edition.

Physical:

309 pages ; 24 cm.

ContentType:

text txt rdacontent.

MediaType:

unmediated n rdamedia.

CarrierType:

volume nc rdacarrier.

Summary:

"For fans of The Invisible Bridge and The History of Love, a lyrical and exquisitely moving novel about a writer who embarks on a transformative journey in Amsterdam, where he discovers the shocking truth about his mother's wartime experience-unearthing a remarkable story that becomes the subject of his magnum opus. At the behest of his agent, renowned author Yoel Blum reluctantly agrees to visit his birthplace of Amsterdam to meet with his Dutch publisher, despite promising his late mother that he would never return to that city. While touring the Jewish Museum with his wife, Yoel stumbles upon a looping reel of photos offering a glimpse of pre-war Dutch Jewish life, and is astonished to see the youthful face of his beloved mother staring back at him, posing with her husband, Yoel's older sister, Nettie...and an infant he doesn't recognize. This unsettling discovery launches him into a fervent search for the truth, revealing Amsterdam's dark wartime history and the underground networks which hid Jewish children away from danger-but at a cost. The deeper into the past Yoel digs, the better he understands his mother's silence, and the more urgent the question that has unconsciously haunted him for a lifetime-Who am I?-becomes. Evocative, insightful, and deeply resonant, House on Endless Waters beautifully illustrates the complex nature of identity and belonging, and the inextricability of past and present"-- Provided by publisher.

Subject:

Authors, Israeli--Fiction.

Subject:

Family secrets--Fiction.

Subject:

Mothers and sons--Fiction.

Subject:

Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945)--Netherlands--Fiction.

Subject:

Holocaust survivors--Fiction.

AE:PersName:

Berris, Anthony, translator.

AE:PersName:

Yechiel, Linda, translator.

Link:

Cover image

Field Ind Subfield Data
001 Control No     6581
005 LastTransaction     20200204095632.0
008 Data Elements     190905s2020 nyu 000 1 eng
010 LCCN   $a Record content licensor  2019039570
020 ISBN   $a ISBN  978-1-982130-22-0 :
    $c Terms of availability  $27.00
020 ISBN   $a ISBN  978-1-982130-22-0 :
    $c Terms of availability  $27.00
035 System Ctrl No   $a System control number  (DLC) 2019039570
037 Acq Source   $b Source of stock no/acquisition  B&T LEASE
040 Cataloging Src   $a Original cataloging agency  DLC
    $b Language of cataloging  eng
    $e Description conventions  rda
    $c Transcribing agency  DLC
    $d Modifying agency  NjBwBT
    $d Modifying agency  UtOrBLW
041 Language Code 1   $a Text/soundtrack/separate title  eng
    $h Orig/intermediate tranlations  heb
042 Authentication   $a Authentication code  pcc
043 GAC   $a Geographic area code  e-ne---
069   $a   09389871
082 Dewey Class No 00  $a Classification number  892.43/6
    $2 Edition number  23
099   $a   FIC
    $a   ELON
100 ME:PersonalName 1   $a Personal name  Elon, Emunah,
    $e Relator term  author.
240 UniformTitle 10  $a Uniform title  Bayit Ê»al mayim rabim.
    $l Language of a work  English.
245 Title 10  $a Title  House on endless waters :
    $b Remainder of title  a novel /
    $c Statement of responsibility  Emuna Elon ; translated from Hebrew by Anthony Berris and Linda Yechiel.
250 Edition   $a Edition statement  First Atria Books hardcover edition.
264 ProductnNotice $a Place of prod/dist/manuf.  New York :
    $b Name of prod./pub./dist./man.  Atria Books,
    $c Date of prod/dist/manuf/copyrt  2020.
300 Physical Desc   $a Extent  309 pages ;
    $c Dimensions  24 cm.
336 ContentType   $a Content type term  text
    $b Content type code  txt
    $2 Source  rdacontent.
337 MediaType   $a Media type term  unmediated
    $b Media type code  n
    $2 Source  rdamedia.
338 CarrierType   $a Carrier type term  volume
    $b Carrier type code  nc
    $2 Source  rdacarrier.
520 Summary   $a Summary, etc. note  "For fans of The Invisible Bridge and The History of Love, a lyrical and exquisitely moving novel about a writer who embarks on a transformative journey in Amsterdam, where he discovers the shocking truth about his mother's wartime experience-unearthing a remarkable story that becomes the subject of his magnum opus. At the behest of his agent, renowned author Yoel Blum reluctantly agrees to visit his birthplace of Amsterdam to meet with his Dutch publisher, despite promising his late mother that he would never return to that city. While touring the Jewish Museum with his wife, Yoel stumbles upon a looping reel of photos offering a glimpse of pre-war Dutch Jewish life, and is astonished to see the youthful face of his beloved mother staring back at him, posing with her husband, Yoel's older sister, Nettie...and an infant he doesn't recognize. This unsettling discovery launches him into a fervent search for the truth, revealing Amsterdam's dark wartime history and the underground networks which hid Jewish children away from danger-but at a cost. The deeper into the past Yoel digs, the better he understands his mother's silence, and the more urgent the question that has unconsciously haunted him for a lifetime-Who am I?-becomes. Evocative, insightful, and deeply resonant, House on Endless Waters beautifully illustrates the complex nature of identity and belonging, and the inextricability of past and present"--
    $c   Provided by publisher.
650 Subj:Topic $a Topical term  Authors, Israeli
    $v Form subdivision  Fiction.
650 Subj:Topic $a Topical term  Family secrets
    $v Form subdivision  Fiction.
650 Subj:Topic $a Topical term  Mothers and sons
    $v Form subdivision  Fiction.
650 Subj:Topic $a Topical term  Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945)
    $z Geographic subdivision  Netherlands
    $v Form subdivision  Fiction.
650 Subj:Topic $a Topical term  Holocaust survivors
    $v Form subdivision  Fiction.
655 IT:Genre $a Genre/form data or focus term  Historical fiction.
    $2 Source of term  lcgft.
700 AE:PersName 1   $a Personal name  Berris, Anthony,
    $e Relator  translator.
700 AE:PersName 1   $a Personal name  Yechiel, Linda,
    $e Relator  translator.
852 Holdings   $a Location  TE
    $h Classification part  FIC ELO
    $p Barcode  7360
    $9 Cost  $0.00
856 ElectronicLocat 4   $3 Materials specified  Cover image
    $u Uniform Resource Identifier  https://covers.openlibrary.org/b/id/9257733-M.jpg

Google Books Preview

preview